1-3 PROCESSING TIME ON SHIPPING ORDERS. Free shipping on book orders of $30 or more. Order pickup is available at our shop! Click here for more details and processing times.

"Read that already? Read this next!" - Dispatch #4

The literary world is full of repeated recommendations, popular books you're sick of hearing about, the newest releases you've already read, old classics you don't want to revisit. In a valiant effort to reconcile these occurrences, I invite you to join me for our fourth glorious installment of: "Read that already? Read this next!"

Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke --> Ordinary Monsters by J.M. Miro

Ordinary Monsters is a recent release and a stunning new work of historical fantasy that introduces readers to the dark, labyrinthe world of The Talents. In Victorian London, two children with mysterious powers are hunted by a figure of darkness. Brimming with vivid prose, encapsulating world-building, and a driving plot, Ordinary Monsters presents a catastrophic vision of the Victorian world and of the gifted, broken children who must save it.

Hardcover $28.99

Kissing the Witch by Emma Donoghue --> How to Be Eaten by Maria Adelmann

This darkly funny and provocative novel reimagines classic fairy tale characters as modern women in a support group for trauma. Also for readers of Carmen Maria Machado, Kristen Arnett, and Kelly Link, How to Be Eaten takes our coziest, most beloved childhood stories, exposes them as anti-feminist nightmares, and transforms them into a new kind of myth for grown-up women.

Hardcover $28

The Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow --> When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill

Learn about the Mass Dragoning of 1955 in which 300,000 women spontaneously transform into dragons...and change the world. Through loss, rage, and self-discovery, this story follows Alex Green's journey as she deals with the events leading up to and beyond the Mass Dragoning, and her connection with the phenomenon itself.

Hardcover $28

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman --> Never the Wind by Francesco Dimitri

A bittersweet gothic fantasy of family, friendship, memory, and the uncanny told from the perspective of a blind teenager, set in the same world as The Book of Hidden Things, perfect for readers of Neil Gaiman, Donna Tartt and Haruki Murakami. As family starts to crack at the seams, unspoken friends Luca and Ada have to navigate new lands and old rivalries to uncover the truths spoken as whispers on the wind. 

Paperback $15.85

Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky --> A History of Wild Places by Shea Ernshaw

A History of Wild Places weaves a richly atmospheric adult debut following three residents of a secluded, seemingly peaceful commune as they investigate the disappearances of two outsiders. Hauntingly beautiful, hypnotic, and bewitching, this is a story about fairy tales, our fear of the dark, and losing yourself within the wilderness of your mind.

Hardcover $12 (Used)

Honorable Mention — Recs based on what you've watched! (or at least, on some of my favorite movies and shows!)

Witches of Eastwick --> The Ex Hex by Erin Sterling

Paperback $15.99